Skip to content

Murray County in Burn Ban

Murray County has been placed under a burn ban effective immediately after Monday’s County Commissioners meeting. The resolution will be good until Monday, Aug. 15. If extreme fire danger and/or high heat conditions persist, subsequent resolutions may be passed.
During a prolonged drought, wild land, range crop, grass or forest fires are highly likely. It is now unlawful to set or build a campfire, bonfire or to burn or ignite fireworks, or to burn trash or other material that may cause a forest, grass, rang crop or other wild lands fire.
Exceptions to this burn ban include: equipment related to road construction projects and welding/cutting torch/grinding activities.
LPG and natural gas grills and charcoal/wood-fired grills/smokers outside in a grilling receptacle are permitted provided the activity is conducted over a non-flammable surface and at least five feet away from flammable vegetation.
Any person convicted of violating this resolution shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not more than $500, imprisonment for not more than one year or to both such fine and imprisonment.
The burn ban may be removed at any time during the burn ban period by the same method which it was approved.
Murray County joins Central Oklahoma Counties currently in a Burn Ban Status: Noble, Kingfisher, Canadian, Grady, Stephens, Jefferson, Garvin, Carter, Love, Pontotoc, Johnston, Hughes, Coal and Bryan.
Eastern Oklahoma: Washington, Nowata, Craig, Ottawa, Cherokee, Adair, Atoka, Okmulgee, Muskogee, McIntosh, Haskell, Hughes, Pittsburg, Choctaw and McCurtain.
Western Oklahoma: Texas, Woodward, Major, Alfalfa, Dewey, Blaine, Harmon, Greer, Jackson, Kiowa, Tillman, Comanche and Cotton.
Bringing the total of counties in a Burn Ban to 43.
Some Areas across the state are forecasted for small amounts of moisture and slightly cooler temperatures for the next couple of days. Please stay alert and make safe choices.

Leave a Comment